version française Deutsche Version
The Horber Schienen-Tage – an event with 30 years of exciting development...

... from a local discussion initiative into the most important German-speaking specialist symposium on the Rail topic which is open to everyone. In 1983, a few people interested in rail traffic met at the initiative of Kurt Bielecki in Horb in Southern Germany (near the Black Forest) to discuss railway issues. The state of the Deutsche Bahn (Federal German Railway) and the company's withdrawal from local presence caused a lot of concern at that time. Since then, every year in late November, the Horber Schienen-Tage organisers invite the interested public to learn, discuss and socialise with participants from the industry, trade associations, public transportation services, politics and science. People committed to transport policy – be it by profession or as volunteers – have the opportunity to speak with rail traffic professionals on the same level.

The Rail topic is not considered as an isolated issue and as an end in itself by the organisers of the Horber Schienen-Tage event, but as an essential part of our modern society. Rail traffic and technology may cause excitement, travelling should be fun. Critical questions are not off-limits.

Current examples are used to make long-term developments in traffic policy tangible. This helped to promote crucial strategic decisions in favour of rail traffic. Some achievements which today are taken for granted were introduced for the first time in Horb on the river Neckar. The first presentation of a BahnCard (railway pass) designed after a Swiss model resulted in an outcry at that time – today it is a part of everyday life. In 1990, Dr. Göbertshahn held a keynote speech related to regular interval service: "Unsere Bahn wird taktvoll" (Our railway adopts a regular interval timetable). A subject which was discussed controversially at that time, retrospectively marked the beginning of a strategic realignment of rail-based local traffic.

Questions regarding the sustainability of traffic could also be found on the agenda right from the start. Early claims featured the internalisation of external costs for all traffic systems. This is still an unresolved issue. Thus, the environmental impact of the different traffic systems is hardly comparable, the intermodal competition still suffers from distortion. Freight traffic and combined traffic, energy saving or alternative fuels, all these subjects can regularly be found on the agenda. For its commitment to sustainable traffic, the Horber Schienen-Tage event received the European environment award as early as in 1988.

The Horber Schienen-Tage have kept up a regular dialogue with politics. Virtually from the beginning, the municipality of Horb and the local deputies were involved in the dialogue. For more than fifteen years, members of the Deutscher Bundestag (German parliament), namely members of the traffic committee, have been involved in the discussions taking place at the Horber Schienen-Tage. At the same time, the dialogue with the industry could be intensified: at least one session for introducing new concepts and current products is scheduled every year.

The participants of the Horber Schienen-Tage pass a resolution every year in which they state their opinion on issues of current and long-term importance.

For a short overview of the history and the continued activity of the Horber Schienen-Tage, refer to our general flyer (0.7 MB, in German only)  An in-depth look into the development, success stories and contents of the Horber Schienen-Tage is given by our Jubilee folder (in German) and further publications. All publications are available in German only ... (click here to go to the overview)


  Startseite

  Förderpreis

  Fachexkursionen

 

  2018: 36. HST

  2017: 35. HST

  2016: 34. HST

  2015: 33. HST

  2014: 32. HST

  2013: 31. HST

  2003 - 2012: 23. - 30. HST

  1994 - 2004: 12. - 22. HST

  1983 - 1993: 1. - 11. HST

 

  Über uns / Impressum

   * Inhalt und Ziele

   * Chronik der Tagung

   * Europa und die Welt

   * Tagungsbüro

   * Tagungsort

   * Impressum

 

Horber Schienen-Tage

Resolutionen * Arbeitskreise * Medieninformationen * Veröffentlichungen

english text version française

Die Horber Schienen-Tage entwickelten sich ...

... in dreißig Jahren aus einer lokalen Gesprächsinitiative zur größten deutschsprachigen Fachtagung zu allen Aspekten des Themas "Schiene", die jedermann offensteht. 1983 trafen sich auf Initiative von Kurt Bielecki am Schienen­ver­kehr Interessierte zur Diskussion. Der Zustand der Deutschen Bundesbahn und ihr Rückzug aus der Fläche gaben Anlaß zur Besorgnis. Seither bieten die Horber Schienen-Tage jedes Jahr Ende November allen Interessierten Gelegenheit zur Fortbildung, Diskussion und für Kontakte zwischen den Teilnehmern aus Industrie, Verbänden, Verkehrsbetrieben, Politik und Wissenschaft. Beruflich oder ehrenamtlich in der Verkehrspolitik oder im Schienenverkehr Tätige können hier auf gleicher Augenhöhe miteinander sprechen.

Das Thema "Schiene" betrachten die Horber Schienen-Tage nicht isoliert und als Selbstzweck, sondern als wesentlichen Bestandteil unserer heutigen Gesellschaft. Schienenverkehr und Technik dürfen faszinieren, Reisen soll Spaß machen. Kritische Fragen sind nicht tabu.

Erläutert an aktuellen Beispielen werden auch langfristige Entwicklungen der Verkehrspolitik faßbar. Damit konnten wesent­liche Weichenstellungen zugunsten der Schiene mit ein­geleitet werden. Man­che heute selbstverständlichen Errungen­schaf­ten wurden erstmals in Horb am Neckar vorge­stellt. Die erste Vorstellung des Modells einer Bahncard nach Schweizer Vorbild führte zu einem Aufschrei, heute ist sie selbstverständlich. Dr. Göbertshahn hielt 1990 einen Grundsatzvortrag zum Taktverkehr: "Unsere Bahn wird taktvoll". Was damals kontrovers diskutiert wurde, markierte rückschauend betrachtet den Anfang einer Neuausrichtung des Nahverkehrs auf der Schiene.

Fragen der Nachhaltigkeit des Verkehrs standen ebenfalls von Anfang an mit auf der Themenliste. Sehr früh wurde eine Internalisierung externer Kosten bei allen Verkehrsarten gefordert. Bis heute ist diese Problematik ungelöst. Damit sind verschiedene Verkehrsarten in Bezug auf ihre Umweltwirkung nur schwer vergleichbar, der intermodale Wettbewerb bleibt weiterhin verzerrt. Güterverkehr und kombinierter Verkehr, Energieeinsparung oder alternative Treibstoffe, all diese Themen finden sich regelmäßig auf dem Programm. Wegen ihres Engagements für nachhaltigen Verkehr wurden die Horber Schienen-Tage bereits 1988 mit dem Europäischen Umweltpreis ausgezeichnet.

Regelmäßig stehen die Horber Schienen-Tage im Dialog mit der Politik. Praktisch von Anfang an waren die Stadt Horb und die örtlichen Abgeordneten in den Dialog eingebunden. Seit mehr als fünfzehn Jahren stellen sich regelmäßig Abgeordnete des deutschen Bundestages, und zwar Mitglieder des Verkehrsausschusses, bei den Horber Schienen-Tagen der Diskussion. Zugleich konnte der Dialog mit der Industrie intensiviert werden, alljährlich ist mindestens eine Sitzung für die Vorstellung neuer Konzepte und aktueller Produkte vorgesehen.

In einer Resolution nehmen die Teilnehmer der Horber Schienen-Tage alljährlich zu aktuellen und gleichzeitig langfristig wichtigen Fragen Stellung.

Einen kurzen Überblick über die Geschichte und die weitere Arbeit der Horber Schienen-Tage gibt unser allgemeines Faltblatt (0,7 MB) . Eine ausführliche Darstellung der Entwicklung, der Erfolge und der Inhalte der Horber Schienen-Tage bieten unsere Jubiläumsmappe und weitere Publikationen ...(Lesen Sie weiter)


  Startseite

  Förderpreis

  Fachexkursionen

 

  2019: 37. HST

  2018: 36. HST

  2017: 35. HST

  2016: 34. HST

  2015: 33. HST

  2014: 32. HST

  2013: 31. HST

  2003 - 2012: 23. - 30. HST

  1994 - 2004: 12. - 22. HST

  1983 - 1993: 1. - 11. HST

 

  Über uns / Impressum

   * Inhalt und Ziele

   * Chronik der Tagung

   * Europa und die Welt

   * Tagungsbüro

   * Tagungsort

   * Impressum

 

Horber Schienen-Tage

Resolutionen * Medieninformationen * Veröffentlichungen